Combat sports are dangerous, even for the third man in the ring or cage with the combatants. If you needed a reminder of that, take a look at this crazy moment from a Max Muay Thai event in Thailand where Gou Dakui not only knocked down his opponent with a right hook but the referee with a headkick moments later.
No, this wasn’t some out of control act of anger … just the result of Dakui being slightly off with his finishing maneuver. Fortunately for him, he didn’t need the follow up kick to end the fight with Super X Sitsontidech, who was already in the process of falling over when the ref stepped in and inadvertently ate the shot to the face. Both men went down and Dakui retreated to a corner to wait and see if the errant blow was going to cost him the win.
After a few minutes of confusion, a new ref arrived to wave off the fight as Super x Sitsontidech was unable to continue. The incident with the original ref was deemed an accident, and Gou Dakui awarded the win. His muay thai record improves to 21-9, while Super X drops to 60-32-2. We have no idea what the ref’s win/loss record is but imagine this may be his first KO loss.