InterMat Wrestling – Hall of Fame’s Iowa chapter announces 2018 honorees

Share the joy

Chuck Patten

Ten individuals associated with wrestling in the state of Iowa — including former University of Northern Iowa wrestling coach Chuck Patten, and the late Mike Duroe, long-time coach at Cornell College — have been named members of the Class of 2018 of the Iowa chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The 2018 nominees will be honored at the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Convention on Saturday, Oct. 27 at a noon luncheon at the Airport Holiday Inn in Des Moines.

Four individuals will receive the Lifetime Service Award:

  • Chuck Patten, former UNI head wrestling coach, who led the Panthers to 17 consecutive winning seasons when he took the helm in 1965
  • Steve Knipp, former head wrestling coach at Waterloo East High School
  • Bruce Ennen, wrestling official from Iowa City
  • Tom Hildreth, former head coach at Rockwell City, Iowa

    Receiving the Medal of Courage Award is Kobey Pritchard, a former Southeast Polk High School wrestler.

    Assistant Coach Achievement Award recipients are Craig Bencke, Bondurant, and Buck Wheeler, SEP.

    The Dan McCool Media Award will be presented to Wyatt Schultz of The Predicament (a publication that covers wrestling in the state of Iowa), and Doug Brooker of IPTV (Iowa Public Television) and the Big Ten Network.

    Ed Winger, former announcer at the Iowa High School State Wrestling Tournament, will receive the Bob Roethler Award.

    The Bill Nelson Award will be presented to Mike Doughty of Washington, Iowa.

    In addition, Mike Duroe, coach for 13 seasons at Cornell College and U.S. men’s freestyle coach at six Olympics before his passing in July 2018, will be honored posthumously.

    A limited number of seats are available for those who would like to attend the luncheon. Email Brian Reimers at or call (515) 290-0508. Tickets are $35 each and must be pre-ordered. You must have your tickets reserved and paid for by Oct. 20.

  • Source link

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *